The GRE and Bookstores

Just to clarify, I am actually working a real job in Chiang Mai, not just traveling and having fun and escaping the real world.

Now with my foot in the door in the world of international development, I cannot stop thinking about Grad School.  Yes, it is intimidating thinking again about all-nighters in the study lounge, endless coffee purchases, solving probability functions during Thanksgiving, and setting 5 alarms as insurance before my final in the morning.  Is it twisted, however, that I also find this thrilling?  Call me a nerd, but I love to learn.  It’s a pain in the a** sometimes, but it’s all for the passion, man!

In this vein, I decided I should start preparing to take the GRE.  First, buy some study guides!  To the bookstore I go!  Lonely Planet suggests Backstreet Books near Tha Pae Gate.  I head to BB, but no study guides.  I go next door to Gecko.  There is a GRE study guide from 1996.  uh, no.  The lady suggests I go to DK Books down the road.  GRE books found!  But they are all in Thai.  Back home to do a Google search.

Next day. Suriwong Book Centre southeast of the moat.  Small, quality selection of books in English, but no study guides.   Ok, last bookstore I know of: Asia Books at the Airport Plaza. Tiny bookstore on the 2nd Floor of the mall with Test Prep Guides!!  Mostly for GMAT and SAT, but a couple for GRE.  Barrons New GRE, but for 1195THB!  and Princeton’s Cracking the GRE, but I don’t want that one.  That’s it.

So, I suppose if you plan on studying for the GRE while living in CM, try to buy the guides in your home country and lug them over.  If you can’t do that, then Amazon is your saviour.

All the books/materials I was searching for were found on Amazon Int’l, who tacked on a $42 S&H fee.  Here’s what I ordered:

“Manhattan Prep GRE Set of 8 Strategy Guides, 3rd Edition (Instructional Guide/Strategy Guide)” Manhattan Prep, -; Paperback; $76.78

“GRE Math Prep Course (Nova’s GRE Prep Course)”
Jeff Kolby; Perfect Paperback; $22.92

“Barron’s New GRE Flash Cards, 2nd Edition”
Weiner Green M.A., Sharon; Cards; $11.43

Barron’s New GRE, 19th Edition (Barron’s GRE)”
Weiner Green M.A., Sharon; Paperback; $11.39

“GRE The Official Guide to the Revised General Test with CD-ROM, Second Edition (GRE: The Official Guide to the General Test)”
Educational Testing Service; Paperback; $23.10

Yes, that’s 11 books and a stack of flashcards. I’m intense about studying.

About redmudstain

An American Expat in Chiang Mai, Thailand ​ Not willing to settle down just yet - I'm only in my mid-twenties after all - I took a leap across the big big pond and fell onto Thai soil. Well, it was a little less spontaneous than that... ​ After a grueling application process, Princeton in Asia bestowed upon me a one-year fellowship with The Life Skills Development Foundation in Chiang Mai. A renowned child rights non-profit foundation in Northern Thailand, TLSDF is giving me the opportunity to research critical social issues, travel across field sites in the nation's upper regions, converse with the international human rights community and of course, learn Thai! ​ This is my life - the beauty, struggle, culture shock and adventure - in the charming city of Chiang Mai. Blog: https://redmudstain.wordpress.com/ UPDATE: Chiang Mai got me for 2 years!

One comment

  1. Good information about GRE. its need is still required. some useful material about GRE Vocabulary Guide

Leave a Reply

