Dial 199 for Emergency

Scary experience yesterday.  I landed myself in the hospital due to who-knows-what.  I woke up in the morning nauseous and short of breath with a killer headache.  Going to be blunt, I got up to go #3, which happened 3 times throughout an hour span.  As I was brushing my teeth, my legs went weak and I became very light-headed.  I followed my former doctor’s advice and knelt down on the ground, knees pulled up to my chest (I fainted in a bar before – dehydration, so I know how this works).  I gulped down a bottle of water, but still felt dizzy and sick to my stomach.  Finally got my co-worker to drive me to the hospital, Chiang Mai Ram.  The wait was short, but the nurses seemed so rushed, running back and forth like they had a bus load of patients coming in…

Well, the doc saw me for less than a minute and diagnosed me with possible food poisoning. ok.  I left the hospital with a crap ton of meds and 1800THB in the hole.  At least I feel better today!

Do I really need 6 prescriptions??

 

About redmudstain

An American Expat in Chiang Mai, Thailand ​ Not willing to settle down just yet - I'm only in my mid-twenties after all - I took a leap across the big big pond and fell onto Thai soil. Well, it was a little less spontaneous than that... ​ After a grueling application process, Princeton in Asia bestowed upon me a one-year fellowship with The Life Skills Development Foundation in Chiang Mai. A renowned child rights non-profit foundation in Northern Thailand, TLSDF is giving me the opportunity to research critical social issues, travel across field sites in the nation's upper regions, converse with the international human rights community and of course, learn Thai! ​ This is my life - the beauty, struggle, culture shock and adventure - in the charming city of Chiang Mai. Blog: https://redmudstain.wordpress.com/ UPDATE: Chiang Mai got me for 2 years!

Leave a Reply

