Bhote and China

I’ve never mentioned my cats, which is surprising considering how much I talk about them to my friends. While I’ve always only had dogs in the States, I decided to adopt kittens here in CM because they are lower maintenance and don’t require showers. Plus, they are so darn cute! Cats in the States tend to be, well, catty, and seem to generally dislike being coddled. Cats in Thailand are the friendliest little puffballs you will ever meet! They aren’t afraid of people, won’t scratch you (usually) and are quite playful. Do I sound like a cat lady? Yes? Great, because I am becoming one.

In October 2012, I adopted two female twin kittens from a random bar in the Jed Yod area. Some neighborhood street cats had produced a litter and no one wanted to take care of them, so I thought, why not, I’ll keep ’em. As young 3-month olds, they were terrified of the sound of my motorbike when I attempted to drive them home. I almost crashed my bike on the way to my house because of their frenetic movements on this “foreign thundering moving contraption.” However, I think they immediately took a liking to their new home and its large jungle-like yard where they could roam around and stalk their prey in peace and quiet.

Both my roommate and I decided to adopt together, so I named mine, Bhote (after the Bhote Kosi river), and my roommate’s is China.

Taking care of the cats and keeping them healthy is dramatically less expensive than in the States. Shots are about 150THB and sterilization 500THB. There are a couple Vets along Chotana Rd. and Chang Phuak Rd. I like to use. Pet stores are similarly priced to ones in the US, so buying food, cat litter and toys can be expensive, but at least you have room to bargain!

My favorite pet shops are:

Suthep Road (If heading South on Nimman, turn left at the Suthep intersection and a pet store will be on your right-hand side)

Chotana Road (500m from the Super Highway, going North)

Kamthieng Market (In the left section), which stocks some imported products

Arak Road (west moat), which hosts a strip of pet shop market stands

There is a bit of a lack of cat products and most stores are geared toward dog-needs, but you can always order online (if you really need that organic catnip infused scratcher board).

Now, my favorite part. Pictures!

Twins!

Twins!

Baby China

Baby China

Crazy Baby Bhote

Crazy Baby Bhote

Bhote is wearing the cone of shame because a big cat attacked her.

Bhote is wearing the cone of shame because a big cat attacked her.

Sleeping

Sleeping

Cuddle sleeping

Cuddle sleeping

IMG_0171

Awkward Sleeping Position

Sleeping in a cubby hole

Chillin in a cubby hole

More awkward sleeping

More awkward sleeping

Eating a lizard

Eating a lizard

Bhote’s favorite movie is Saving Private Ryan:

 
Shop Amazon Pets – Cat Toys

About redmudstain

An American Expat in Chiang Mai, Thailand ​ Not willing to settle down just yet - I'm only in my mid-twenties after all - I took a leap across the big big pond and fell onto Thai soil. Well, it was a little less spontaneous than that... ​ After a grueling application process, Princeton in Asia bestowed upon me a one-year fellowship with The Life Skills Development Foundation in Chiang Mai. A renowned child rights non-profit foundation in Northern Thailand, TLSDF is giving me the opportunity to research critical social issues, travel across field sites in the nation's upper regions, converse with the international human rights community and of course, learn Thai! ​ This is my life - the beauty, struggle, culture shock and adventure - in the charming city of Chiang Mai. Blog: https://redmudstain.wordpress.com/ UPDATE: Chiang Mai got me for 2 years!

Leave a Reply

