Vietnam, Chuc Mung Nam Moi!

Of all the countries I’ve visited (ok, it’s only 12), Vietnam has the best scenery! Mountains, beaches, rivers, caves, snow, lakes, cities, valleys, rice paddies, am I missing anything? Most people I talk to don’t have fond memories of Vietnam and I can see why, but none of that can outweigh the spectacular views of the jagged mountains in Vietnam’s countryside.

So much to tell, but so little time, so for now, I will just post photos. Unfortunately, my iPhone updated to IOS7 without prompting me for a backup right after my trip, so, lucky me, I lost every single photo from my 16 days in Vietnam. Over it, already cried my heart out, no more tears left. Fortunately, my partner in crime, Vincent Millet, took these amazing photos on his camera, so I can still show you parts of the backpacking adventure:

Hanoi

Living along the railroad

Living along the railroad

hanoi 1517762_10151832818300544_415962108_o 1606508_10151832821040544_1401927351_o

1523001_10151832859205544_2024211138_o

hanoi

Hoan Kiem Lake

Hoan Kiem Lake

Ngoc Son Temple Bridge

Ngoc Son Temple Bridge

Hanoi threw up Christmas. Think this X every single shop on 2-3 blocks

Hanoi threw up Christmas. Think this X every single shop on 2-3 blocks

Sapa

Sapa Trek

Sapa Trek

Rice Paddies

Rice Paddies

Meat Market

Meat Market

The Red Dzao Courting Tradition (Saturday evenings), "Hat Giao Duyen"

The Red Dzao Courting Tradition (Saturday evenings), “Hat Giao Duyen”

Halong Bay

vietnam
vietnam vietnam vietnam
vietnam

Ninh Binh

vietnam vietnam vietnam

Dong Hoi/Phong Nha

Paradise Cave, just opened in 2011

Paradise Cave, just opened in 2011

Danang/Hoi An

Cua Dai Beach

Cua Dai Beach

Saigon

vietnam vietnam

About redmudstain

An American Expat in Chiang Mai, Thailand ​ Not willing to settle down just yet - I'm only in my mid-twenties after all - I took a leap across the big big pond and fell onto Thai soil. Well, it was a little less spontaneous than that... ​ After a grueling application process, Princeton in Asia bestowed upon me a one-year fellowship with The Life Skills Development Foundation in Chiang Mai. A renowned child rights non-profit foundation in Northern Thailand, TLSDF is giving me the opportunity to research critical social issues, travel across field sites in the nation's upper regions, converse with the international human rights community and of course, learn Thai! ​ This is my life - the beauty, struggle, culture shock and adventure - in the charming city of Chiang Mai. Blog: https://redmudstain.wordpress.com/ UPDATE: Chiang Mai got me for 2 years!

One comment

  1. Looks amazing. Lucky you!!! Now they all think you are Vietnamese 😛

Leave a Reply

