Sell or Donate Used Clothing

So you’ve been backpacking awhile and accumulated too many fisherman pants? Or you’re an expat and doing some Spring Cleaning? Unfortunately, there’s not a huge garage sale or Buffalo exchange culture here (for the Americans), so what do you do when you just have too much?

If you want to get rid of your old clothes or housewares in Chiang Mai, here are a few options for you:

Markets

CMU Night Market (Student Market): Starting at around 5:30pm, vendors begin setting up their stalls for the hundreds of university students and young people of Chiang Mai who come through every night. For a 40THB rental fee, you can stake out a square to sell your used goods. (Pay when the lady comes around.) I was there from 6:30-10:30pm and made 3000THB! I should quit my day job…

Weekend Prince Royal Flea Market: Again for a small rental fee, you can claim a spot and sell your junk alongside dozens of other locals selling random used things. Get there early on a Saturday or Sunday morning to set-up as most customers arrive before lunch!

Facebook

Seconhand Chiang Mai

Secondhand Chiang Mai

Chiang Mai, Buy, Sell, Swap

Chiang Mai Motorcycle Buy and Sell

Chiang Mai Used Secondhand Bikes and Bicycles

Online Trading Posts 

Secondhand Chiang Mai

Thai Visa Classifieds

City News Classifieds

Donate

Free Bird Cafe takes your good condition used clothing and books and resells them to benefit the education of Burmese children in Thailand. You can treat yourself to a yummy baked good or tea leaf salad at the cafe after you donate!

Temples/Wats – Note, these are not dumping grounds. Please quality, good condition items only.

The New Life Foundation

The Banana Project

The Raintree Resource Center

Senior Citizen’s Home on Kotchasarn Road.  – I’ve only heard of this as a donation spot, but not sure where it is.

About redmudstain

An American Expat in Chiang Mai, Thailand ​ Not willing to settle down just yet - I'm only in my mid-twenties after all - I took a leap across the big big pond and fell onto Thai soil. Well, it was a little less spontaneous than that... ​ After a grueling application process, Princeton in Asia bestowed upon me a one-year fellowship with The Life Skills Development Foundation in Chiang Mai. A renowned child rights non-profit foundation in Northern Thailand, TLSDF is giving me the opportunity to research critical social issues, travel across field sites in the nation's upper regions, converse with the international human rights community and of course, learn Thai! ​ This is my life - the beauty, struggle, culture shock and adventure - in the charming city of Chiang Mai. Blog: https://redmudstain.wordpress.com/ UPDATE: Chiang Mai got me for 2 years!

2 comments

  1. Hello,

    Thanks for the informative article. I’d like to sell my clothes at the student market. I’ve been there before but never knew that I could set up there. Do you know what zone allows that? Any advice is much appreciated.

    Thanks for your time.
    JJ

  2. Hey! I’m heading to Chiang Mai today and staying until the 27th, I would love to set up shop at the student market and get rid of some of my expensive yoga clothes that I just don’t have room for anymore. If you could send me an email with some tips, that would be great! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

