Thai Street Art

กราฟฟิตีเชียงใหม่ // Chiang Mai Graffiti

UPDATE – NOV. 2013: A friend and I have founded Chiangmai Graffiti, which showcases the work of CNX graffiti and street artists. Once fully launched, it’ll feature exclusive interviews with various up & coming artists, photos of art all around the city, exhibits and events, and other collaborative works. You can go to our Chiang Mai Graffiti’s Facebook to check out the community so far.

________________________

With Chiang Mai being the major hub of universities in Thailand, it’s no wonder there is such a young & fresh scene of budding artists. The street art movement has taken the city by storm over the past few years and you’ll see stickers, graffiti, tags, and art rapidly popping up all over. You may be familiar with the most prominent Thai street artist, Kobby, but as of late, these other youngin’s are giving him a run for his money ;D

Click on the photos below to see more of that artist’s work:

graffiti

IMG_2048

POAS

Jess
panda

IMG_2023

joh

IMG_2027

wifire

Joon9

TCCY

Soper

Through a street art enthusiast, Vincent Millet, I was able to find and snap some shots of these graffiti pieces:

IMG_2029

Earlier this year, the BUKRUK Street Art Festival took place in Bangkok, which is a celebration of European and Thai graffiti artists. Too bad I didn’t have time to go, but I can’t wait for it again in 2014! Look what happened this year:

 

2 comments

  1. A girl after my own heart. I remember when I first arrived into Kuala Lumphur, I went directly to the street art. So much for Malay culture 😛

    You also need to check out Kad Suan Kaew. Tons of stuff there. I went on a binge a couple of years ago. It’s on the back side. Cheers!

Leave a comment